top of page
  • Writer's pictureArtah Yamin

Book Review: Kind of Famous by Mary Ann Marlowe



Thank you to NetGalley for providing me with an e-ARC in exchange for an honest review.


The synopsis of this book really reeled me in! It’s been a while since I’ve read a rock star romance novel and so I was excited to start this one.


We meet the protagonist, Layla Beckett, who runs a very popular fan-site for this band she’s in love with, without giving her identity away. So when she lands a job at a famous music magazine and unexpectedly starts to meet the people from her adored band and drummer boy Shane Morgan, her secret blog starts to become a problem.


For the most part, I really liked Layla and her attitude towards life. She wasn’t a perfect character by any means. She made a lot of mistakes, but she always knew when she was in the wrong and I loved that. Layla knew herself really well and what it was she expected from herself, relationships, and the people she interacted with.


“My mom had passed on a bit of wisdom to me. She said, “Layla, if you can’t talk to a boy about sex, about your body, then you’re not ready for sex with him.”


Next off, Shane, a.k.a drummer boy/ Layla’s love interest. Compared to Layla, I thought Shane was just a-okay. He’s different from most of the cocky alpha males that are usually in this genre, and so I found that to be exciting. However, his silly, shy, and dorky behaviors were overshadowed by his immaturity.


When Shane first appeared in the book I immediately thought he was around 25 years old. Midway through when he revealed his age to be 31, I seriously dropped my phone and had to look at the screen again to see if what I was reading was correct or not. The man acted like a 19-year-old but in a 31-year-old body. He would lash out like a kid at times and overreacted, big time, to a lot of what Layla did and so that didn’t make me the biggest fan of him.


Romance-wise I thought it was cute although a bit too quick for my liking. I would have wanted their story to be prolonged a bit more, but I guess for Shane and Layla it was just an instant feeling.


Having said that, it still was an entertaining story with intriguing side characters—my favorite of them all being Jo—that kept me from sleeping. I liked it and I’ll definitely be reading more of Mary Ann Marlowe’s works soon!


Definitely check out Kind of Famous, coming out April 7th, if you’re interested in strong female characters and rock star themed reads:)


RATING: 3.5 STARS


For more bookish content, be sure to subscribe down below!💕

44 views5 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page